Day 1: My Breastfeeding Journey

Day 1: My Breastfeeding Journey

August 1-7 is World Breastfeeding Week. My son just recently weaned at 13 months and I will forever cherish my first Breastfeeding journey. When I first found out I was pregnant at 16, una nińa todavía, I was determined to do my best to take care of mi bendición de Dios. It was hard, it still is. But I know that I am doing my best in creándolo. As young, Latina mothers we must let go of all the stigma surrounding us and parent the way we know or think we know best. Dando pecho is one of the ways we can make sure our babies are saludable y sanos. There are trials and tribulations, trust me, but I feel they are well worth it. I will always be a advocate for las mami’s choosing to breastfeed. Breastfeeding in public or with a cover. Pumping in the workplace or in the car. On demand or on a schedule. Whatever the case may be you are maravillosa. You are valiente. And you are reconocida. This not to bash formula, this is to recognize and appreciate all the mami’s for all the hard work breastfeeding takes and how they are not forgotten. I remember the day my son was born and no tenía leche. But I persisted and persisted and by the end of my hospital stay, a small hospital pump was brought to me. It just goes to show it takes dedicación y determinación because IT IS NOT EASY, pero si vale la pena. 



Me and mi gordito this time last year ✨

Leave a Reply

